Past Presidents of the CCEAM

2011-2013: Emeritus Professor Frank Crowther, AM

Emeritus Professor Frank Crowther is recognised as a leading international scholar on the subject of Leadership. His books are international best sellers.

His doctoral dissertation at the University of Wisconsin in 1984 received the International Exemplary Dissertation Award. He is also a Gold Medalist of the Australian Council for Educational Leaders, and Fellow of both the Australian Council for Educational Leaders and Australian College of Education. In 2004 he was recognised by The Bulletin magazine as one of 100 Smart Australians and in 2006 he was made a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM).
Frank has contributed to education through extensive careers in both Canada and Australia. He spent eighteen years in Alberta, Canada as a teacher, principal, inspector and Regional Director for Edmonton and Northern Alberta. On his return from Alberta to Australia in 1986 Frank received the Award of Excellence of the Alberta Teachers Association for services to the educator profession in Alberta and Canada.

Prior to his retirement from fulltime work in 2006, Frank was the Pro Vice Chancellor as well as Dean of the Faculty of Education at the University of Southern Queensland. He continues to conduct research and consultancy work, particularly with the internationally-renowned IDEAS School Revitalisation Project, across Australia as well as internationally.
Frank is married, with three adult children and two grandchildren. His hobbies include regular fishing trips to the Swaines Reef and trekking. At the age of 63, he successfully trekked to the Everest Base Camp.

2010-2011, 2013-2014: Anusha Naidu

Chief Operations Officer
Matthew Goniwe School of Leadership and Governance
South Africa




2009-2010: Zandile Kunene (Deceased)

Chief Executive Officer
Matthew Goniwe School of Leadership and Governance
South Africa




2004-2008: Dr Petros Pashiardis

Professor of Educational Leadership
Open University of Cyprus 




2000-2004: Dr Jo Howse

Manager School/Business Relations
City of Manukau Education Trust 
Manukau City
New Zealand




1994-2000: Professor Angela Thody

International Educational Leadership Centre
Lincoln University
United Kingdom





1990-1994: Professor Bill Mulford

University of Tasmania






1986-1990: Professor Meredydd Hughes

Head of the Department - Educational Studies, and Dean - Faculty of Education 
University of Birmingham
United Kingdom


1982-1986: Professor Robin Farquhar



1970-1982: Professor Bill Walker